County Council

Huron County is governed by County Council, which is made up of fifteen members from our nine area municipalities. Each municipality located within Huron County is represented at County Council by their elected representatives: Mayors or Reeves, Deputy Mayors and Deputy Reeves, along with additional Councillor Representatives, as determined by eligible voters.

Biannually, at their Inaugural Session in December, County Council elects a Warden from among the Councillors. The Warden is the executive officer of the corporation and the head of County Council. The Warden chairs County Council meetings, sits as an ex-officio member of all Standing Committees, and represents the County at a wide range of functions and activities.

Each County Councillor is appointed to one of the Standing Committees or various organizational committees that are named on the report of the Striking Committee at the Inaugural Session of County Council. All County Councillors sit on the Committee of the Whole. Special meetings of committees can occur at the call of the Chair, CAO, County Clerk or Warden; recommendations must then be approved or endorsed by County Council.

County Council meets once a month (usually the first Wednesday of each month) at the County Administration Building, 1 Courthouse Square, Goderich, Ontario. During these sessions, Council considers and adopts the minutes and recommendations of the standing committees.

As elected representatives, County Councillors are always willing to hear comments, concerns and suggestions from the public. Council and Committee meetings are open to the public, and attendance is encouraged. Agendas can be obtained by contacting the County Clerk’s office.

View the revised 2018 County of Huron Council and Committee Schedule for regularly scheduled meeting dates and times.

Click here to view the Procedural By-Law No. 2018-008

Contact Information

Should you have any questions or concerns relating to any aspect of administration within Huron County, please contact us.

Huron County Administration
Huron County Court House
1 Courthouse Square
Goderich, ON N7A 1M2 (Map)

Hours: Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Telephone: 519-524-8394
Toll-Free: 1-888-524-8394
Fax: 519-524-2044



  • pdf
    Revised 2018 Huron County Council and Committee Schedule