Municipal Elections in Huron County

Each of the county’s nine local municipalities are responsible for running its own election of council. Huron County Council is comprised of elected officials from the nine local municipalities. After the 2014 election, County Council consists of the following 15 members:


Municipality Council Member(s)
Township of Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh Mayor, Deputy Mayor
Municipality of Bluewater Mayor, Deputy Mayor
Municipality of Central Huron Mayor, Deputy Mayor
Town of Goderich Mayor, Deputy Mayor
Township of Howick Reeve
Municipality of Huron East Mayor, Deputy Mayor
Municipality of Morris-Turnberry Mayor
Township of North Huron Reeve
Municipality of South Huron Mayor, Deputy Mayor

*The current composition of 16 council members was amended to 15 in County By-law 46-2012, which took effect following the 2014 election.

On Election Day, residents of Huron County will also vote for area school board trustee positions. Unless residents are eligible to vote for a separate or French school board, they will vote for public school board trustees in their area.

Who is eligible to vote?

To be able to vote, your name must be on the list of eligible voters for your local municipality. To confirm or add to your voter information in a few easy steps, visit or call the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation (MPAC) at 1.866.296.6722.

Anyone can vote in a municipal election who, on the day of the election is:

  • Eighteen (18) years of age or older,
  • A Canadian citizen; and
  • Either the resident of the municipality, or a property owner or tenant, or the spouse of an owner or tenant in the municipality during a specified time prior to the election.

For more information on voting requirements, see the 2018 Voters’ Guide.

Who can run as a candidate in the election?

A candidate for municipal office must, upon nomination, be a qualified municipal elector and fulfill all of the following requirements:

  • Be a resident of the municipality, a non-resident owner or tenant of land in the municipality or the spouse of such an owner or tenant;
  • Be a Canadian Citizen;
  • Be at least 18 years old;
  • Not be legally prohibited from voting; and
  • Not be disqualified by any legislation from holding municipal office.

A candidate, if nominated, must remain qualified throughout the election and, if elected, throughout the term of office. The term of office starts on December 1, 2014 and runs through to November 30, 2018. For detailed information on becoming a candidate, see the 2014 Candidates’ Guide (PDF) or contact the municipal clerk in your local municipality.

Where do I go for more information?

Questions about municipal elections may be directed to your local municipal clerk or the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing Municipal Services Offices.

Back to top