Emergency Responses

When emergencies happen, they are usually first dealt with at the community level by local emergency response organizations, including police, fire, emergency medical services and public works. Most emergencies do not require provincial assistance.

If a major emergency occurs in Huron County, the head of council (Warden) would implement the County’s emergency response plan, or declare an emergency, if required. Members of the County Emergency Control Group would then come together and work to ensure a controlled, centralized and coordinated emergency response takes place.

Huron County’s Community Emergency Management Coordinator (CEMC) is responsible for providing efficient, effective and timely emergency programs. The CEMC works with a county-wide Emergency Preparedness Advisory Committee; together they publish an approved County Emergency Response Plan, organize annual testing of the plan, develop an appropriate community emergency operations centre, train municipal emergency personnel and provide public awareness.

The Emergency Preparedness Advisory Committee includes:

Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh Huron County Emergency Services
Bluewater Huron County Health Unit
Central Huron Red Cross
Goderich (CEMC) Victims Service
Howick Union Gas
Huron East Ontario Hydro
Morris-Turnberry Ontario Provincial Police
North Huron Avon Maitland District School Board
South Huron Huron/Perth Catholic School Board
Huron County Mutual Aid (Local fire departments)
Corporation of County of Huron’s Strategic Management Team

In 2017, the County of Huron successfully completed the Essential Level requirements of the province’s Partnership Toward Safer Communities program. This achievement demonstrates that Huron County’s prevention initiatives, emergency preparedness and response actions have readied the county for recovery from an emergency situation.